you're reading...
A&E/Lifestyle

The YouTube Scene

youtube

Among the many students who achieve high grades and always finish their homework before it is due, there are a number of students who choose instead to dedicate their time to their personal hobbies. Junior Peter Yang, STEM publicist, IMC publicist, and GDC co-president, has created a successful YouTube channel that he uses to share his talents.

“I began my channel about four years ago,” Yang said. “My goal was to share piano compositions and rearrangements, but over time I learned to make original compositions.”

Yang’s Youtube channel, S0L1DGH0ST1, has about 22 videos that show off his piano-playing ability. Despite having various original compositions, his channel’s most successful videos come from just him playing previously arranged compositions.

“I am not rather proud of my current most popular video, because it was not really my original composition that I was playing,” Peter said. “I like my “Ylvis-The Fox” video and my “Minecraft-Take Back the Night” videos, these are some of my original piano arrangements.”

If you still are skeptical of the rewards of a YouTube channel, don’t be. Peter’s channel currently has 4.7 thousand subscribers. One of his more popular videos has racked up more than 700,000 views.

“I like to post piano arrangements, and recently orchestral arrangements. My individual arrangements almost total 1 million in total views, while the rest of my total views, about 2.7m come from videos in which I just play pre-existing arrangements,” Yang said.

He has refused to publicly post any other types of videos on his channel or monetize his work. Believing that it would ruin the entire theme of the channel, he simply wants to keep using this as an outlet for his music.

“I plan to just continue what I am doing. I do not plan to make money from it like other YouTubers. That requires much more dedication and legal work,” Yang said.

If this has inspired you to create your very own YouTube channel, keep in mind that it would take quite an effort to gain popularity. With the 100 hours of content posted to YouTube every minute, it is difficult to create something unique and new.

“If you are trying to make a music channel like mine, think of what people like at the current moment and act quickly,” Yang said. “The viral span for a song, for example, is about 1-2 months. After that, you probably will have missed your window unless you do something very original with the piece.”

-Byron Aguilar

Discussion

Comments are closed.

